Dear Mikey

I am in a positive psych class and our assignment was to write a thank you letter to someone. I chose Mikey who left us yesterday. It saddens me that he will never read it, but I needed to write it. He was much too young and will be missed more than he knows. Like my best friend Erik that passed away and fought many of the same battles. Both of them gone at 33 which is much too young, but I know neither of them have to fight these battles any longer. If you want to help with his services you can do so here Mikey benefit

Please feel free to share your thanks to Mike and/or stories in the comments below.

Dear Mikey,

It saddens me with a huge heart that you are gone. I want to write you this thank you letter even if I cannot give it to you. I want to thank you for never judging me too harshly even when you were around to see some of the stupid mistakes I made. I want to thank you for being patient with me when you wanted to take our friendship to a different level and I wasn’t ready yet. I want to thank you for always being the sweetest, most caring person when we were together. I want to thank you for trying to cheer me up in times of woe. You really cared deeply for others and were often so selfless and kind. I want to thank you for putting others before yourself at times even if you really needed to take care of your self-first. I want to thank you for showing me what strength really is, and for fighting this tremendous battle that you had to fight. I want to thank you for sharing your music, the honest and talented musician that you were. I want to thank you for making me laugh and cheering me up when I was down. I want to thank you for sharing your passions with me and showing me that kind of passion exists. I will miss you and the world has a void now without your presence. I am going to go watch a horror movie in your honor and will be missing your company.

photo credits: Aaron Thackeray

photo credit: Aaron Thackeray

Leave a Reply

